Quarry of the Year Award

In 2015 the Assessment Panel decided to select a “Quarry of the Year” from the operations who had obtained certification during the year.

Chris Henderson, Operations Manager for Sherburn Stone Company Limited receives the “Quarry of the Year” award for 2015 from the Assessment Panel Chairman Eric Darlow OBE.



The 2016 Winner of the “Quarry of the Year” was Hugh King & Company’s Hullerhill Sand Quarry at Kilwinning in Ayrshire where they have been producing sand for over 160 years.

A very proud Martin Gunning, Hugh King & Co.’s Health and Safety Officer, is seen here receiving the award from the Assessment Panel Chairman Eric Darlow OBE.


In 2017 the BAA’s Assessment Panel were delighted to award the “Quarry of the Year” to Laurence Carmichael of  Longwood Quarries  in Blankney, Lincolnshire. Longwood Quarries Ltd has been supplying screened lime and crushed aggregates to the farming, building and construction industry for more than 50 years.




Quarry of the Year 2018, Springfield FarmThe 2018 “Quarry of the Year Award” went to Springfield Farm, a Buckinghamshe family-owned sand and gravel operation and Quarry Manager,Martin Phillips proudly displays the award.


The 2019Quarry of the Year Award” went to CCP Building Products’ Aberdo Quarry in Wales (part of SigmaRoc). On 13th August Steve Cole (Chair of the Awards Committee) made the presentation on site to Deputy Quarry Manager Vicky Harrison and the team.


The 2020 Award went to Smiths of Bletchington, Gill Mill Quarry  &  Ben Strickland, Quarry Manager.   There has been coverage in Mineral Planning(Apr2021), AggNet and Aggregates Business Europe.     There was a site presentation in 2021 and a further one at the Annual meeting in Buxton June 2021, the first F2F industry meeting for 15 months due to Covid-restrictions.

The 2022 Awards was also won by Smiths of Bletchington, Dewars Quarry & Mark Stanway, Quarry Manager.